Togo, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Madagascar, Morocco, South Africa and Eritrea are the eight nations present in Pyeongchang in South Korea for the Olympic Winter Games that officially started yesterday Friday, February 9, 2018. And for these eight countries, the same number of women.

 

Nigerian delegation at the opening ceremony of the 2018 Pyeongchang Winter Olympic Games.

 

This is the first time that Africa has been so well represented in Winter Olympic Games. It should be noted that apart from some Maghreb countries very close to the West and those of the southern hemisphere, the climate is rather warm in the rest of Africa. A situation that does not favor the practice of winter-specific disciplines.

But some nations have made this meeting one of their priorities. Whenever the opportunity arises, they send an athlete or two. This is the case of Morocco, Ghana and Togo, for which this is not the first participation in an edition of the Winter Olympics.

For once, women make up the majority of the African delegation at a competition of this magnitude, and it is worth emphasizing. For two weeks, we will vibrate to the rhythm of the movements on the snow.

 

Countries Athletes Disciplines
Nigeria Seun Adigun Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigeria Ngozi Onwumere Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigeria Akuoma Omeoga Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigeria Simidele Adeagbo Skeleton
Kenya Sandrine Wanjiku Simader Alpine ski
Madagascar Mialitiana Clerc Alpine Ski
Togo Mathilde-Amavi Petitjean Cross-country Ski
Eritrea Shnannon Ogbani-Abeda Alpine Ski

 

For Nigerians, this is their first participation in the Olympic Winter Games. On the other hand, the Togolese Mathilde-Amavi Petitjean follower of cross-country skiing takes part for the second time in a row at the Winter Olympics. In Sochi, Russia, she finished 66th out of 75.

 

What will be the performances of our African representatives at this competition? Can they afford to do better than figuration? Is there a real future for winter sports in Africa? Here are some questions that remain unanswered for the moment. But the results obtained in Pyeongchang will certainly make it a little clearer.

 

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Veuillez ajouter votre commentaire
Veuillez inscrire votre nom ici

Togo, Ghana, Kenya, Nigéria, Madagascar, Maroc, Afrique du Sud et Erythrée sont les huit nations présentes à Pyeongchang en Corée du Sud pour les Jeux Olympiques d’hiver qui ont officiellement débuté ce vendredi 9 février 2018. Et pour ces huit pays autant de femmes.

 

La délégation nigériane lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver Pyeongchang 2018

 

C’est la première fois que l’Afrique est aussi bien représentée aux J.O d’hiver. Il convient de souligner qu’en dehors de certains pays du Maghreb très proche de l’Occident et ceux de l’hémisphère sud , le climat est plutôt chaud dans le reste de l’Afrique. Une situation qui ne favorise pas la pratique de disciplines spécifiques à l’hiver.

Mais certaines nations ont fait de ce rendez-vous l’une de leurs priorités. A chaque fois que l’occasion se présente, elles y envoient un athlète ou deux. C’est le cas du Maroc, du Ghana et du Togo dont ce n’est pas la première participation à une édition des JO d’hiver.

Pour une fois que les femmes constituent la majorité de la délégation africaine à une compétition d’une telle envergure, cela mérite d’être souligné. Pendant deux semaines, nous allons vibrer au rythme des mouvements sur la neige.

 

Pays Athlètes Disciplines
Nigéria Seun Adigun Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigéria Ngozi Onwumere Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigéria Akuoma Omeoga Bobsleigh, Skeleton
Nigéria Simidele Adeagbo Skeleton
Kenya Sandrine Wanjiku Simader Ski alpin
Madagascar Mialitiana Clerc Ski alpin
Togo Mathilde-Amavi Petitjean Ski de fond
Erythrée Shnannon Ogbani-Abeda Ski alpin

 

Pour les nigérianes, c’est une première participation aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver. Par contre la togolaise Mathilde-Amavi Petitjean adepte du Ski de fond prend part pour la deuxième fois consécutive à des JO d’hiver. A Sotchi en Russie, elle avait terminé 66ème sur 75.

 

Quelles seront les performances de nos représentantes africaines à cette compétition ? Ont-elles les moyens de faire mieux que de la figuration ? Y a-t-il un réel avenir pour les sports d’hiver en Afrique ? Voici quelques questions qui restent pour le moment sans réponse. Mais les résultats obtenus à Pyeongchang permettront à coup sûr d’y voir un peu plus clair.

 

 

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Veuillez ajouter votre commentaire
Veuillez inscrire votre nom ici